Saturday, 25 September 2010

Interview - Kokokelli

Dotted with hearts interview Kelly of Kokokelli :-)

Q. Please tell us a little about yourself and Kokokelli

My name is Kelly 'Womble' Johnson and I'm 29 years old. Kokokelli is my crafting name and I started making handmade jewellery & greeting cards in January 2010.

Q. Where in the world are you based?

I'm from Oldbury in the West Midlands (not far from Birmingham/Dudley/West Bromwich/Smethwick)

Q. What made you get into jewellery and card making?

I've always been very arty farty and praised highly for my creative talents. I saw some jewellery that a friend had made at a jewellery workshop run at the Birmingham Bead Shop ( and just thought to myself "yeah I could do that!" so I bought a small starter kit with the tools and findings off eBay and it went from there really. I used my best friend as a kind of guinea pig as it was her birthday the end of January lol so I made her a handmade birthday card and made her a necklace, bracelet & earring set which she absolutely loved!!

Q. What are your most popular items?

I don't really have any 'best sellers' so to speak but I seem to sell more bracelets more than anything at the moment as they are reasonably priced and different from those you see in the shops (as is everything else I make)

Q.What do you enjoy making the most?

I absolutely love making custom orders for people as each one is unique and one of a kind! It's also a challenge and I love a good challenge! Especially when there's certain things you need to find for a certain piece. I've done some lovely jewellery sets, badge bracelets and a beautiful wedding card which was just a masterpiece in my eyes! lol

Q. Who or what is your inspiration?

I get asked this question quite a bit lol I get my inspiration from many things I guess, stuff I like, stuff I've grown up with, people I've known, I even run ideas past my mom sometimes lol. They'll be days when something will just pop in my head or I'll be out and about and I'll see something and it'll just trigger off a huge light bulb in my head lol.

Q. Where would you like to see yourself in five years time?

I would love nothing more than to have my own proper business from home doing what I do best and making lots of money from it lol (who wouldn't) plus that way I'd be able to start the family I've always wanted and still work at the same time.

Q. What are you doing for Halloween?

To be honest I don't really do the whole Halloween thing anymore. We went trick or treating a couple of times as kids but that's about it. It's not really the same as it used to be now especially round here, sometimes you're scared to answer the door when you've got masked hoodies banging who are only after your money anyway! It may change when I have kids and it would be nice to take them trick or treating while they're young so they can have some fun, we'll just have to wait and see lol.

Kokokelli Shop -


  1. Thanks so much for interviewing me and featuring it on your blog! It was fun! :o) xXx

  2. great interview!